Sadie Butterfly and Summer in my Yard

This season there has been a large grouping of butterflies on my deck.  They love the flowers and also like some of the chair cushions that are floral.  Whenever I see one, I think of Sadie as the coloring so reminds me of her.  Its true name is the Red Admiral Butterfly.  The butterflies either have a “boom or a bust” year.  This year is definitely a boom year.  I love to watch them and smile thinking of my sweet Sadie Girl.  Here is a picture I was able to snap of one on my deck flower pot.

Sadie Butterfly aka Red Admiral Butterfly

Sadie Butterfly aka Red Admiral Butterfly

The Coreopsis that I planted in Sadie’s memory is doing well.  It seems to be the one plant the deer are not eating this season.

Coreopsis

I have always had the deer in my yard, but never have they eaten so many of my flowers and vegetables.  I have two that are both new mom’s that frequent the yard.  I have seen them with their fawns at least once a week.  Yesterday was the first day, they came in the middle of the afternoon and I was able to get a quick picture.

Dolly and her fawn July 15 2015

The rain has been relentless.  It rained 19 out of 30 days in June and for the past 30 days, it has rained over 10 inches.  This breaks a record from 1878.  Not a fun record to break.

The ferals are doing well and seem to be adjusting to all of the rain.  Most of the rain has come in steady down pours with little thunder.  When the thunder and lightning are present, all 3 make their way under the deck.  Here are a few pictures of them during the past week.

Shadow and Stellar taking a nap on the deck.

Shadow and Stellar taking a nap on the deck.

Hampton and his new found catnip toy.

Hampton and his new found catnip toy.

Hampton, Stellar and Shadow hanging out on the deck.

Hampton, Stellar and Shadow hanging out on the deck.

This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

