Bone Broth Revisited

Last year when I was caring for Sadie, I made quite a few batches of bone broth for her. It was one of the few things she would eat and it always perked her up.  I continued making bone broth to store in the freezer to use instead of chicken broth and even to drink alone. This type of bone broth was made with seasoned chickens with added salts, spices and herbs so I would not use this on my pets.  This week I decided it was a good idea to have some on hand for my pets.

Marvin ( my orange kitty who used to live outside as a feral/stray cat) had to have his teeth cleaned along with two extractions.  I took him to the vet two weeks ago for his yearly check up.  Getting him into the carrier is one of the most difficult events.  The day he went for his check up, I ended up with 6-10 scratches over my hands and chest.  It was not a pretty sight.  The vet immediately noticed he had two teeth where the gum was growing over the teeth.  This required immediate extractions.  Yesterday my  husband and I manged to get him into the carrier without any battle wounds, but it was still an event.  He did well and returned home last evening.  I had decided that bone broth would be a good addition to his meals for a few days.

Bone broth is known to help with inflammation so I wanted to give it a try with Marvin.  He is only allowed to have soft wet food for the next two weeks so it is easy to add a spoonful of bone broth to his meal.  I am hopeful this will aid in speeding up the healing.  Here is a picture of the broth I made yesterday. You can see the nice golden color.  The consistency is slightly gelatinous.

Bone Broth

Bone broth

If you would like to know more about Bone broth, you can read about it here.

This entry was posted in Marvin, Orange Kitty, Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

