Cisco’s Adjustment to Inside Kitty

I am really pleased with all of the progress Cisco has been making.  He has been inside the house now for almost 2 weeks.  The time has certainly gone fast.  He spends most of his time napping, but is starting to come out of his shell and play for awhile.  The biggest issue we have is men.  He usually hides when my husband or son come into the room.  This is a work in progress.

The first few days inside went very well.  He would meow and yowl just a bit and this was usually in the mornings.  He would hear my two inside boys (Jake and Marvin) running up and down the hall.  Cisco would come right to the door and meow and yowl.  He did try to escape the room one morning and I had a hard time pushing him back with a pillow while trying to get inside the room.  We now are using two gates.  He seems afraid of them and has not once tried to jump them or get near the door.  It is somewhat challenging for the humans to get inside the room, but we are managing!

At first he liked to hide and sleep inside his tent house that he used outside.  Next he hid under the dresser.  For the past 5 days, he prefers to sit on a low chair near the window.  Yet he does not even want to look outside.  I have a small cat tree for him as well.  He has been on it once or twice and starting shaking all over.  It is as though the outside just petrifies him.  I did wonder if the view from a second story window scared him, but I have seen him looking down to the ground and he reacted the same.  I then closed the blinds about 3/4th of the way down.  The other day, I took the heat pad out of his tent house and placed it on his chair.  He spends most of his time there.

The hardest part is his reaction to men.  I am not sure if it is the larger stature, deeper voice or bolder movements.  When he hears my husband coming, he will hide under the chair.  If I am in the room too, I try to prevent him from hiding.  He will allow my husband to give him a few pets and even play with a toy, but it does not transfer to the next time.  We have also tried yummy food.  He usually will not eat it.  I assume with time he will adjust.  Yet I wonder if something happened to him in his past that involved a man.

Cisco went back to the vet on January 5, 2017.  He needed to have vaccines and blood tests as well as having his tail looked at again.  The good news is that his tail is healing so well!  The vet was wondering if surgery might be necessary to remove the very tip.  Yet the tail is closing up and she even saw a bit of hair regrowing.  For now we will continue to wait and see.  I can tell the tail still bothers him, but he is no longer growling at it or over grooming it.  As long as it continues to heal and he leaves it alone, nothing will need to be done!  To speed the healing, I cleaned the wound daily with a solution of Chlorhexidine Gluconate (blue solutions) given to me by the vet.  I added a drop of Colloidal silver to the cotton ball.  I did this 2x a day each day.  I also used the homeopathic remedy Hypericum Perf for nerve pain.  I did this for 5 days and then moved onto Calendula to help the edges of the wound come together.  He also receives some flower essences to help with the trauma from his wounds as well as for adjusting to inside living.  Finally he gets 2 drops of Traumeel to assist his limp.

I received a call on Saturday morning from the vet.  Cisco had blood drawn to test for FELV (Feline leukemia), FIV (Feline Aids), Bartonella (Cat Scratch Fever) and Heartworm.  He tested negative for FELV!!!! Yet postive for FIV:(.  The other test results are not back yet.  The FIV diagnosis is not one I fear.  First off, he could have received the FIV vaccine when he was young.  This would show a positive on the test.  There is another blood test that can be run to determine if the positive FIV is due to a vaccine.  Yet the test is not foolproof.  It is something I will think about.  Since he will be living with 2 other indoor only kitties, I wanted to be sure they all will be safe.  The greatest danger for FIV transmission is between non neutered male cats that fight for blood.  Indoor neutered males usually do not fight for blood.  The method of transmission is through a very deep wound.  Superficial bites or scratches are not methods of transmission.  My vet felt it is very safe to introduce Jake and Marvin to Cisco as long as it is done slowly and I watch for any signs of aggression.  This will be a long slow process.  As I learn more about FIV, I will share it here.  I do know that I will be looking for a good immune supplement to help support his body.

Here is what I know about FIV so far:  It is refereed to as Feline Aids as it attacks the immune system.  The illness can stay dormant for years.  When it is active, simple colds or gastrointestional illnesses may take longer to overcome.  Gingivitis is another problem as the cat may have difficulty fighting off bacteria in the mouth.  Eye and kidney issues could also be a problem.  For now Cisco appears extremely healthy.  I am leaning towards using a good Colostrum supplement to boost his immune system. He will have twice yearly checkups to access his health.

Here are a few pictures of him in his room

 

This entry was posted in Cisco, FIV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cisco’s Adjustment to Inside Kitty

  1. Trish K says:

    I’m glad to hear Cisco is getting better. Your security cameras…can you put a screen in his room so he can see the activity on the front porch? This is just a suggestion (if your husband and son are willing)…have them sit on the floor every day and read to Cisco. Newspaper, magazine, etc…he won’t care…but he will get used to the sound of their voices. The fact they are sitting on the floor with Cisco and not trying to have physical contact with him may win him over. Cisco will have a chance to observe them without feeling threatened. It has worked for my husband and I with some of our cats :o)

    Like

  2. We have a feral that is now indoor only going on a year and a couple of months now. Don’t worry about the FIV. It’s only transmissible through deep bite wounds, so keep him away until you are sure everyone is getting along, which took about 7 or 8 months for my guys to integrate with each other (even though my other is a retired feral and they knew and liked each other outside.) FIV kitties tend to have problems with their teeth first, so just keep an eye out for that. Other than 7 extractions, my guy is in perfect health and he’s estimated 10+ years old.

    As for the men thing, yes, it’s their large presence in voice and stature. I made my husband get down on the floor and talk in a softer higher voice for a while. A long while. It took many months for that adjustment, but now he is fine with my husband just reaching down to pet him. He still gets skittish if we loom over him or move too abruptly in our gestures.

    We started with gates too, doubled up, but my other cat kept jumping to get into the room, and my existing cat was not at all nice about it. Lots of smacking and hissing, but no actual fighting. Now they are friends and hang out together most of the time.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for telling me about your FIV boy. After researching all weekend, I feel much better. Our introductions will be very slow. The last feral I brought inside, it took a full year.
      I will have my husband go into the room and sit for awhile and just read aloud. I am sure within time Cisco will adjust to him.

      I have used a screen door that I will use this time as well for introductions. I keep the gate in the door way and the removable screen door rests against the doorway. It is secured with tension rods. This is only used for supervised visits.

      Thanks so much for the suggestions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

