Plans for making An Apartment

I have written quite a few times about “The Apartment” that my husband and son designed.  I even wrote a special post pack in April about it!  You can read about it here.  My husband was gracious enough to draw up the plans so I could post them here if anyone wishes to make one.  As a reminder, here is the finished product.  It is small enough to fit in small spaces and even works well in corners.

IMG_5611

I will attach the plans here as well as in the original post.  Hope your cats will enjoy it as much as mine do!  Please share with me if you make one too.

Apartment 1

Apartment 2

– I use 0.5” MDF or Particle Board
– One 4×8’ sheet should be just right for one apartment
– Cut pieces to the dimensions shown below.  The square cut-out in the Top can be offset 1.5-2” from the edges.
– The sides are designed to overlap the top/shelf/bottom and the back so you can screw to join the levels
– I typically attach the carpet first, but you might find it helpful to attach the sides, top and bottom first and work around inside.
– I use spare, semi-plush carpet for the lining.  I line every surface except for the backside of the back and the bottom side of the bottom.
– I keep 1/2 inch gaps from the carpet where the boards will be joined.
– Secure the carpet prior to attaching the sides.  I have used both a staple gun with 1/4-3/8” staples and an electric glue gun.  The glue takes longer, but I feel it is a better adhesion and safer for the cats.
– Don’t forget to carpet the edges!
– Once the boards are carpeted, secure each board together.  I typically use approx 1 1/2” fine drywall screws.  It can be tricky to line the boards up on the 1/2” side, and it might take a few tries.
– Refer to the completed pictures for orientation.
This entry was posted in Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

